My plan to overcome the pressure of a perfect body

How many times have you looked in the mirror and thought about all those negative comments you got in middle school and high school? You know, those boys who said your hair wasn’t pretty enough, or that you didn’t do enough sports, or even the ones who flat out told you that you were too fat for them to ever like you. I know I do. All the time.

I used to just try to ignore the comments and be the bigger person. That hasn’t been working for me lately. I have recently decided that I am going to change myself so that the next time I see them they can swallow their spit, eat their words and be jealous that they missed their shot, which I am not complaining about because I have the most amazing boyfriend ever. He is the reason why I have decided to take control of my body and get in shape.

My friends, family and boyfriend have always told me that I don’t need to lose weight, and that I’m perfect the way that I am and that I’m beautiful. I appreciate this support so greatly. However, I don’t believe them. I believe that they think that, but until I get my weight and physique where I want it to be, I will not be 100% with my life.

About 2 months ago, I decided to start eating right, eating healthy. Now I’m sure you’ve tried every diet possible and nothing works. I am not on a diet; I am simply just eating better! I’m not cutting out carbs or anything crazy like that. I cant live without carbs. I mean, who doesn’t love carbs? I simply made some switches! Instead of sugary cereal for breakfast, I switched to fruit, yogurt and toast with peanut butter. I still get the sweetness from the fruit so I don’t feel like I’m missing out on my fruit loops. A huge thing for me, is that I need to eat enough protein at meals so that I don’t feel the need to snack. Yogurt and peanut butter at breakfast are excellent suggestions and, they happen to be my favourite. Eggs are excellent too! For snacks, I stick with veggies, or fruit or cheese and saltines! A little sweet or salty keeps my cravings at bay. Here are a couple recipies that I love!

Skinny Buffalo Chicken wing dip

http://www.gimmesomeoven.com/skinny-buffalo-chicken-dip/

Healthy Mac and Cheese (who doesn’t love mac and cheese)

http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/2014/12/28/healthy-mac-cheese/

Now there’s no way that you can just eat your way skinny. Trust me, if you could I would have done it already. So about 6 weeks ago, I started going to the gym. I was doing okay, but I didn’t feel like I was doing the exercises right. So that’s when I decided to hire a personal trainer. She has been so excellent to me. She works around my back injury; which I did about 3 years ago, but I’m not going to get into that. She pushes me harder than I would if I were to be working out on my own, but keeps it calm enough to protect and strengthen it and loose weight all at the same time! She’s amazing.

I’m not seeing any results yet, but I feel so much better already. So all I’m going to tell you is that eating right changes you, in the best way.

Now I know I was talking about how social media sucks about showing off all of these perfect women and bodies and I’m not saying to let them get to you. I’m saying that you should take control of your life! If you’re not happy with the way you look then fix it! Is there anything that you guys have been doing that’s working for you? Let me know! I’m always looking for tips and tricks to help!

Thanks! Be happy!

Leave a Reply

